If asked, a student must provide proof of California residency (or in some cases, parent residency) for the past 12-24 consecutive months. If the student is unable to document proof of California residency, he/she may still enroll but must pay non-resident fees. To establish residency a student must be able to prove eligibility, physical presence and the intent to remain as a resident (one year and one day prior to the first day of the semester) or 24 months of physical presence. Federal law precludes some visa types from establishing residency. In addition to other requirements, a student must be able to prove residency for one year and one day prior to the beginning of the semester. Selected exemptions from non-resident fees are provided in law: such as certificated public school employees, agricultural workers, military personnel and their dependents. If you feel that you might qualify for an exemption, or have questions about residency, please contact the Admissions and Records Office. If you have been designated as a non-resident student and feel that this is a mistake you will need to fill out a Residency Reclassification Request and bring it along with all supporting documentation to the Admissions and Records office.
Legal Requirements – Education Code Section 76140 requires that tuition be charged to students who are not residents of the State of California and who attend public community colleges within the state.
The non-resident/international student fee of $200.00 per unit (subject to change) plus a per unit enrollment fee is charged each semester/ summer session. Tuition charges must be paid at the time of registration.
The Admissions and Records Office should be consulted concerning the determination of residence.